Latest Announcement: On Going Site Upgrades & Data Sharing View Post
  Saturday, 13 March 2021
  36 Replies
  275 Visits
Votes
Undo
  Subscribe
So with the first new datasets I have received, my first attempts at unguided narrowband image processing (that is, with no one who knows what they are doing looking over my shoulder). Just a quick couple of versions using the Hubble palette.

NGC2244 NB1.png

NGC2244 NB2.png

Not great, but hey - it's my first time.

We captured equal amounts of Ha, O3 and SII, but the bulk of the signal is in the Ha. There was some in the S2, but very little that could be seen in O3. I found it difficult to stop an SHO image being entirely green, but I could not find another mapping that gave me a reasonable starting point.

I might try some bicolour images with just Ha and SII.

Anyway, I have made a start. Onwards and upwards.
3 years ago
·
Votes
Undo
Submission 20 is now up guys - submission 285 is currently uploading to temp folder so you won't see that yet.

Phil McCauley
Roboscopes Website Admin

Votes
Undo
Hi Richard,

Oops, I got that wrong. I should have said NGC7822 and not the Veil.

As a matter of interest, when you used LinearFit, what channel did you select as the 'master'?  I've seen recommendations that suggest using the strongest stack and others recommend using the weakest. 
Whatever you chose has worked out fine anyway. I'll leave that dataset for now and await the rest of the data. 

Cheers, 

Ray 

Ray
Roboscopes Guinea Pig

3 years ago
·
Votes
Undo
Hi Richard,

Oops, I got that wrong. I should have said NGC7822 and not the Veil.

As a matter of interest, when you used LinearFit, what channel did you select as the 'master'?  I've seen recommendations that suggest using the strongest stack and others recommend using the weakest. 
Whatever you chose has worked out fine anyway. I'll leave that dataset for now and await the rest of the data. 

Cheers, 

Ray