Latest Announcement: On Going Site Upgrades & Data Sharing View Post
  Saturday, 13 March 2021
  36 Replies
  276 Visits
Votes
Undo
  Subscribe
So with the first new datasets I have received, my first attempts at unguided narrowband image processing (that is, with no one who knows what they are doing looking over my shoulder). Just a quick couple of versions using the Hubble palette.

NGC2244 NB1.png

NGC2244 NB2.png

Not great, but hey - it's my first time.

We captured equal amounts of Ha, O3 and SII, but the bulk of the signal is in the Ha. There was some in the S2, but very little that could be seen in O3. I found it difficult to stop an SHO image being entirely green, but I could not find another mapping that gave me a reasonable starting point.

I might try some bicolour images with just Ha and SII.

Anyway, I have made a start. Onwards and upwards.
3 years ago
·
Votes
Undo
Well done Richard :)

Phil McCauley
Roboscopes Website Admin

Votes
Undo
Richard,

That’s excellent. Really like the colours in the lower image. I struggle whenever in that situation when there is a predominance of green or another colour from the strongest stack, normally ha, as in the top one you show. I usually end up with a ton of noise if I try and expand the colour range. So congratulations and I guess being a weekend helped with getting it done so quickly. With a few more images posted like that, and those done by Peter, hopefully they'll generate more interest in this syndicate. 

I think one frame of the Markarians Chain mosaic completed overnight as well. :) 

I've been working on LBN878 but need to address an issue with the stack of blue subs. Not sure what to do to deal with the large stars and halos.

Best regards,

Ray 

Ray
Roboscopes Guinea Pig

3 years ago
·
Votes
Undo
Hi Richard looks a good image to me to be fair :)

Re the green cast