Friday, 10 July 2020
  14 Replies
  269 Visits
Votes
Undo
  Subscribe
Using the final data I have with the old camera from pier 8, I managed to process this object. It took 14 blues, 16 greens and 18 reds all at 5 minutes long each, and 8 luminances at 10 minutes long each. I found this a bit tricky, but I am new to this sort of rig and the data it produces. The integration time was 5 hours and 20 minutes. Thanks everyone, have a good night and thanks to the team for all their hard work. Glad you got back safely... Simon

NGC5906_RGB_dbe_registered7.png

Votes
Undo
Hello Simon, 

You sure don't make life easy for yourself do you. Was a new galaxy to me simply because I dismiss anything that isn't reasonably bright and a decent size. An excellent job on a difficult target, but now after having spent a couple of minutes looking it up, I now consider myself an expert. :) 

I'm afraid I can only award you 9/10 on this one on the basis that you failed to capture any of the tidal stream. Told you I was now an expert on it. Shame really as I'm sure with a bit more effort, say a further 25 hours of exposure time, you could have captured a faint trace of it. That would definitely have earned a10/10, but quite probably got you kicked out of the house when the charge appeared on your next credit card statement!!! 

Seriously thanks for sharing, now just wondering what next you'll have for us. :) 

Hope you are able to get a decent amount of imaging time this weekend at home, despite the lack of truly dark skies here. Clear skies anyway... 

Best regards, 

Ray 

Ray
Roboscopes Guinea Pig

3 years ago
·
Votes
Undo
You got more than I could have, and for such a small object you have done very well :)

Nicely done

Phil McCauley
Roboscopes Website Admin

3 years ago
·
Votes
Undo
Phil,